Divisions are made up of job-alike groups of members as determined by the Executive Board and approved by the Leadership Assembly. OAEA currently has eight divisions representing the art education field:

  • Elementary - for art teachers of grades PK - 6
  • Middle - for art teachers of grades 5-8
  • Secondary - for art teachers grades 9-12
  • Higher Education - for college-level faculty, professors and adjunct, training art education undergraduate and graduate students
  • Museum - for art educators working at museums
  • Pre-service (formerly “student”) - for undergraduate or graduate students not yet provisionally licensed to teach art
  • Supervision, Policy & Administration - for art administrators, supervisors of art teachers or art education policy makers
  • Emeritus (formerly “Retired”) - for members who have retired from any of the above service as art educators


Division Function 

                      Division Leadership

The primary function of the Professional Standards Committee is to be aware of and represent the unique needs and conditions within the Divisions in a statewide frame. Leaders of each Division represent the voice and perspective of members in that division. The Division Chairs review and evaluate the annual Divisional Awards; review and select Conference workshop proposals; and provide leadership for each division.


Click Here to view the Professional Standards Committee in the Leadership Digital Directory


  • Each Division elects a Chairperson during the annual Division meeting held at the OAEA Professional Development Conference.

  • The Chairperson of each Division shall serve as a member of the State Professional Standards Committee and attend the quarterly Leadership Assembly meetings in Columbus for a two-year term.

  • No Divisional Chairperson may serve for more than two consecutive terms.

  • Election cycle – Chairs of the following OAEA Divisions serve for two years with terms beginning in January of an even number year (elected in odd year): Elementary; Higher Education; Emeritus; Supervision, Policy & Administration. Alternately, chairs that begin their terms in January of an odd year (elected the even year) are: Middle; Secondary; Museum and Pre-service.

  • All chairs must spend at least 51% of their work time in their representative division.

  • In the event of a vacancy during a particular term, members within the division may be appointed to fulfill the vacant term.

The Professional Standards Committee is chaired by the Past President.

I look forward to working with such an amazing team. I have not personally worked in this part of the organization and cannot wait to see what great things we can accomplish together. One big event the committee championed last year was a mini conference for preservice members within our larger conference. It was a huge success and I hope to continue with that in some form or another. I am also excited that our committee will be piloting an interest group like NAEA has. Dawn Norris is starting our first OAEA TAB/ Choice interest group so look for articles from her in our Artline and for other related events and activities.

Alice Tavani

[email protected]